What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Vans RV12is interior paint process

DavidHarris

Well Known Member
I'm a newbie painter building a Vans RV12is. I'm looking for advice about the prep and paint process. I'm at step 39-10 where Vans advises painting the canopy frame, latch, and skirts. Once I get the empennage attached and do a bit of related work, I'll come to step 38-13 advising to paint the interior. For various reasons, it may be 18 months before I get there.

I'm based inland in California and have elected not to alodine or prime any of the alclad parts while building.

A friend has half a gallon of gray Sherwin-Williams JetFlex Polane-L left over that he's offered for me to use for the canopy and interior. I asked Sherwin-Williams about the application process and got the following response:

"David per your question below, if going over direct to metal you would need to abrade the metal and clean once that's done a pretreatment is needed. Acid etch and alodine or AC131 are good pretreatments. Primer would be next, see attached. Let me know if you have any question. "

If I understand this right, the process is:
* scuff with scotchbrite
* clean with water and acetone
* acid etch
* alodine
* mask off all the access holes, nut plate holes, brakes components, and everything else that I don't want painted gray in the interior
* prime with Sherman-Williams CM0483800 two-part epoxy primer
* paint with Polane-L