What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-3 Project

J29racer

I'm New Here
Sponsor
I have acquired a RV-3 if anyone remembers it the tail number is N40DC. The plane as about 282 hrs on it but have not flown in about 10 years. I have inspected the operation of the engine and first major problem is upper left engine mount is moving and the firewall is cracked. I am in the process of removing and replacing but would love more input on this project. I have little build experience But quit mechanical. I am located in Sebastian Florida and would love some input. My number is (860) 857-5249.

Attachments

• IMG_5133.jpeg
    IMG_5133.jpeg
    4.9 MB · Views: 175
  • IMG_5135.jpeg
    IMG_5135.jpeg
    5.4 MB · Views: 171
  • IMG_5137.jpeg
    IMG_5137.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 175
Probably getting a set of pre RVB build plans and manual might be a start. If the corner weldment where the engine mount bolt goes through is moving , should be fairly easy to find out why? I am presently building a 3 .
Chris

Where are you located? Wow I didn’t think anyone was building the 3’s. Is it a new kit or one someone gave up on?

This airplane (evidently) never left "home". If you do an "N" number lookup on the FAA website - it says it was built in Sebastian, FL, in 1988. Pretty cool - not a whole lot of potential for "hanger rash" over the years.

To j29racer -

There are -3's going together around the country - the trick is to know where to look. A very good resource is the -3B build being cataloged by Dave Paule here on VAF

A local builder mentor would be worth finding to help you through the learning curve, as well as help you with tool advice. Also, the tool section of VAF is very helpful.

Dave

I live in Lake Wales, and my father and I built my -3. If you have any questions, or need a second set of eyes, let me know it's a great excuse to fly somewhere.