What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

N4400K Follow-up?

Aviator305

I'm New Here
Does anyone have any follow-up on the cause of the engine failure on N4400K last year?

I am a pilot/owner of a Piper Dakota, and I am interested in moving up to an RV-10 at some point in the next 3 years or so. I ran into this particular airplane and its proud owner on YouTube, and I was saddened to see that there was an incident (although thankful that the pilot was reportedly totally fine).

So, I am wondering if anyone has perhaps heard something more than is available on the web. If possible, I would like to know if anything was learned from the engine failure that may help prevent future incidents and allay my knee-jerk fear that perhaps I shouldn’t move up.

Thank you

I did not talk with the pilot directly. One of the fellow builders at SAS did. According to the pilot, he heard a pop, had some smoke in the cabin and decided to put the airplane down. He indicated the engine was running at touchdown. That is not what he told first responders. This is also reportedly not this pilot's first incident/accident.

I looked at the plane at Dodge County airport in Wisconsin where it was being stored awaiting the salvage auction. Between the damage that was done by the moving crew and the off-airport landing - about the only thing salvageable on the airframe were the tail feathers, the avionics and the engine possibly as a core. The prop was destroyed and the cylinders were rusty as the investigators left the sparkplugs out. No idea if the crankshaft was usable.

Evoke's paint was still beautiful. Such a shame.

Still waiting for the NTSB final report.

I would like to know if anything was learned from the engine failure that may help prevent future incidents and allay my knee-jerk fear that perhaps I shouldn’t move up.

Thank you