What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

How can a different prop increase the P Factor? (E-Props)

So this isn't on a Vans, but it's with respect to an E-Props and Rotax 912iS engine, for which I know is popular on some Vans. I recently changed my prop from a 3-bladed Sensenich to a 3-bladed E-Props (Rotax 912iS) and after the prop change, I'm flying in a slip in cruise -- half a ball out and right wing slightly down. This suggests that the E-Props is producing more P Factor. But *how* is what I'm struggling to wrap my head around. How can a prop, especially a prop with much thinner blades, produce more P Factor on an airframe with the same engine and same horsepower? Does anyone have a good explanation for this? An elementary explanation please as I'm no aerodynamics expert, nor an engineer.

And I say significantly more P Factor because even maxing out the ground adjustable trim tab on my rudder didn't get the ball even close to being centered again while in cruise. I already had about 60% angle on my rudder trim tab with the old prop that let me fly coordinated in cruise. When I put on the E-Props, I increased the trim tab to 90% and still almost half a ball out. Not even sure how to fix that problem, other than remove the E-Props and go back to my old prop. But first, I'd like to try to get a handle on how there could have been such a change in the P Factor on the airframe.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Just a wild guess. It may be that your new prop is producing more of its thrust further away, toward the tip. The high speed tip then results in a stronger spiral slipstream, which is hitting the rudder and forcing it to the right. Some aircraft have a slight offset built into their vertical stabilizer, to offset this in cruise. But, obviously, that only works for the spiral slipstream produced by one particular prop.