What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Dynon Skyview ADSB anomaly

redhawk

Well Known Member
I have a dual-Skyview system in my 3B. I’m not sure that my Dynon ADSB is working properly. On taxi out I can see all the ADSB traffic, but once airborne almost all targets disappear - even ones that are in my close proximity.
I’m still learning this system (as I don’t fly regularly enough !), but it doesn’t seem to be displaying targets.
Looking for others who may have experienced this and what the solution might be?
Cheers

Skyview ADSB

I can do that, but doesn’t that just show my ADSB-Out performance? (Which seems to work fine according to ATC).

I can do that, but doesn’t that just show my ADSB-Out performance? (Which seems to work fine according to ATC).

Believe it or not, ATC isn’t the best source to tell you whether your ADS-B is working properly or not. The performance report is far more detailed.

Traffic displayed via ADS-B in indirectly is impacted by your ADS-B OUT.

I just got the report, but it’s a mystery how to attach it to this…

Reply to this message, and click “manage attachments” below the message window.

Or, at least tell us if anything was red? If so, what?

Kinda curious about this one. But, gotta ask some questions:

What kind of transponder do you have?

What ADS-B receiver do you have? (SV-ADSB-470 or -472, or something else?)

What kind of antenna do you have for the ADS-B receiver? Where is the antenna located on the aircraft and what coax did you use (RG58, RG400, or...)? And, is the coax for both the transponder and ADS-B receiver routed together in the same bundle?

Thanks for the report. It looks perfect. So faulty ADS-B out is not causing your aircraft to not be sent any traffic targets…

Dynon ADSB-in communicates with the display via serial connection. I would check two things: