What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Van's Tachometer

tporter

I'm looking for some comment on these tachs that Van sells, The elec. ones with transducer on engine. Mine seems to be about 300 rpms off at higher power settings.

I have been running Van's tach (2") for several years. It's right on!
I have tested it with my optical test tach up to 2750 rpm.
Mel...DAR

RPM reads good...

I'm on my third tach generator in only 50 hours. However, RPM readings were always good.

What type of testing did you perform? What engine and prop setup are you running? What RPM are you expecting, and what are you getting?
Greg

My Tach

Tach & transducer at about 75 hours with no problems. Tested on ground using optical test tach from 800-2000 rpm and it was accurate. It replaced a digital/optical (alternating black/white strip inside of starter ring) and is much more accurate than that one.

Tach & transducer at about 75 hours with no problems. Tested on ground using optical test tach from 800-2000 rpm and it was accurate. It replaced a digital/optical (alternating black/white strip inside of starter ring) and is much more accurate than that one.
Do you know who makes that digital/optical tach you mentioned in your post of 03/2006? Know it has been a long time, but my RV4 has one of those and I'm curious if the outfit that makes them is still in the business and has new ones or something "better."

I'm looking for some comment on these tachs that Van sells, The elec. ones with transducer on engine. Mine seems to be about 300 rpms off at higher power settings.[/QUOTE
Mine ran 200 rpm high also. It took me a long time to realize it. Anyway I replaced it with an EI digital which is accurate. Checked it with an optical tach.