What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Band Saw and Blade recomendations

danlh

I'm New Here
I am a new RV10 Builder and just took delivery of my empennage kit. I am looking at adding a band saw to my tool kit and was wondering if anyone has recommendations on a saw and blade size that would be economical but still be adequate for this project.
Thanks
Dan H

The saw I like is way overkill for an RV-10. But I like blades with about 14 teeth per inch. I've used blades with 6.5 tpi and while that worked well, it was a bit rough.

I've used wood-cutting blades and bi-metallic blades with these tpi, both completely satisfactory.

Dave

I've got an old Sears 10" bandsaw on a stand that works pretty well. I'll echo the statement on getting a blade with a higher TPI count so it makes a smoother cut. The saw is on its own stand, which is handy. You can pull it out from the wall if you have something longer to cut. If the saw is bolted down to a bench like a grinder or a drill press, it can limit what you can cut.

I've also used a small Ryobi band saw and would not recommend it. That one was from years ago, so maybe they've improved it by now.

The replacement blades I've used the last few years were purchased on Amazon. They are a Supercut (brand), 1/4" wide, 0.025" thick, 14 TPI. It works very well on aluminum and wood. Don't use it on steel, or it will be rendered useless in about five seconds. I've used a hacksaw the few times I've needed to cut steel.

Thanks Dave.
I was considering 18 tpi but really had no idea.
I am considering the Grizzly Industrial 9 inch Benchtop model from Home Depot but I was concerned about the speed (2460 FPM). Is this a problem with what we have to cut? I understand that 1000 FPM would be better, but I haven't found anything in a reasonable price range that is that slow.
Dan H