Hey, look at me posting a Van's Air Force News edition on a Sunday!

The new site has been live one business day and one weekend day. Adjustments still underway regarding ad final placement, etc. Could take some time to get dialed, so your patience is appreciated. I thought it more important to get 'live' and work out the final appearance later. v/r,dr

Posts/Replies that caught my eye recently:

What did you do with your RV this weekend?
https://vansairforce.net/threads/what-did-you-do-with-your-rv-this-weekend-1-12-1-15ish.223566/
img_2984-jpeg.53925

Turns out vinyl backer paper is good for something else.
It makes great mask.
By the way, clay works great till it starts to dry. Gravity! I managed to secure the clay mold before it fell off.
20240113_122040.jpg

RE: Aerobatics
I've been flying IAC competition aerobatics since 2016, recreational aerobatics forever. I flew 12 contests in Sportsman and dabbled in Intermediate in my RV before moving on to the Extra. I still have my RV; always will.
I agree that the minor aerodynamic improvements won't amount to anything. Speed is controlled with g and the throttle. In recreational aerobatics, I left the power at high cruise setting of 24" and 2400 rpm and performed aerobatics between 3 - 4.5 g all day long without touching anything. In competition, the power was set mostly like Oliver said, everything forward or idle. On hammerheads I would gradually bring the power back (about 1/3 throttle) during the pivot to avoid being overcome by the torque. If I had point rolls on the way down, I would leave the power back until initiating the pull out. Speed on down lines (45 or vertical) is also managed by line length.
My airplane is configured with a flop tube in the left tank, an IO-360A1A (200 hp), Christen inverted oil system, and a Hartzell constant speed prop. I never felt that I had too much energy or gained enough energy throughout a sequence to get so high that it impacted my presentation.