ALCpilot

I'm New Here
I am relatively new to the Vans community, but I have been monitoring the forum for many years. You see, my father has built an RV-10, and I participated in very small pieces of the build throughout the years. He is an A&P, and I am a professional pilot. I have had the pleasure of flying the airplane and realizing how excellent the machinery/engineering is that Vans Produces. During this process, I learned to "enjoy the build" and every aspect of it, from the research to the decisions and the physical/mental part of the construction of the kit. I mention this because, all too often, the kit manufacturer gets all the glory. However, we must remember the companies that contribute to the overall completion and success of the build and enhance the original product.

Most everyone knows that "you get what you pay for" regarding tools. Sometimes, it doesn't matter how skilled you are; when you work with a subpar tool, you often get subpar results. I have had the absolute pleasure of working with Cleaveland Aircraft Tools since about September 2023. Most of the more significant tools I could use were my father's; however, I purchased a large subset of things for the build on my own. Of course, Cleaveland is KNOWN for their dimple dies. I wanted my own die set, so this was one of many things I purchased from them. When they arrived, I was eager to start using them and compare them to the old ones I had.