Vansconvert

Well Known Member
Is there a difference in the height from the top of the wing to the top of the longerons on a 7 and 8? Asking for ease of entry.

I've flown both, and haven't noticed an appreciable difference in the distance you reference. The wing is essentially the same on the two models, and that's what determines where you sit in the cockpit. The bigger issue for ease of entry is taildragger vs. nose dragger and slider vs. tip-up. But that debate opens up a whole 'nuther can of worms.

I have limited experience in a 7 but I've always had to stand on the seat to get in. On the 8, standing on the seat is not necessary or particularly helpful. I'd rather not stand on my seat. People carry towels to protect the seats but I'd rather not deal with that either.

I own a RV8 and fly with a friend in a RV7A, and here are my observations. It is a bit easier to get up on the wing of the
RV7A due to the step. I find that I must stand on the seat to lower myself into either airplane. But, it is easier to lower myself
into the seat in the RV8 because I can put my arms/hands on both sides of the cockpit. Perhaps there is something on the RV7A that I could
grab, but I haven't found it yet.

The 8/4 are much easier to get in/out, I find the side by side cockpits awkward and cramped 2 up, tandem is the go

The 8/4 are much easier to get in/out, I find the side by side cockpits awkward and cramped 2 up, tandem is the go
Agreed! Just another reason to count the -4 and -8 as the best RV designs..... :) Did we mention sitting on the center line........?;)