What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-14 options

Stockmanreef

Well Known Member
I was wondering if there should be a "sticky" with "better" options for building. The kit comes with with the basics. What are the upgrades? This would make it much easier to think about before you get the kits.

For example:

Beringer wheels and brakes
Matco Nose wheel (the correct one) and axle
skybolt cowling and oil door fasteners
Aircraft Specialty fuel line kits, SS brake lines, and FWF hoses
push button lock line for air vents (Air Craft Spruce A-700 72)
Exhaust options

This could be an excel spread sheet with options: pros and cons versus the stuff that comes with the kit and cost of original with kit versus alternative option. Maybe links to key threads that talk about the changes.

I think that is a great idea. I am a first time builder working on an RV14. The problem I have is that I don't know what I don't know. Suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Good idea, and of course some thread drift:

How do the Aircraft Spruce vent controls (I assume used for heat vents) differ from Van's supplied controls?

don't use kit fresh air vents

Good idea, and of course some thread drift:

How do the Aircraft Spruce vent controls (I assume used for heat vents) differ from Van's supplied controls?

The first change I made was yo not use the vans supplied fresh air eyeballs. I live in cold weather and they seem to be manufactured to leak air. I am glad I noted it and got others. I bought some used from VAF when they came up on a classified from a rebuild. New ones that would work well are an amazing amount of money.
Larry

Options

Hello,

My choices:

Full Beringer kit : flawless efficiency. The hoses are serious ;)
Airvents from Steinair : aluminium. No air leak, easy to set. Very nice product.