What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

The Anti Splat "Nose Job" a review

mkbreezy

All on this forum are certainly aware of the ongoing issues with the "A" model nose gear failures. Airplanes upside down, or on their noses with bent props, and engines needing teardown, not to mention the distinct possibility of personal injury.

When Allan Nimmo posted his videos of the Nose Job, I was very intrigued, because I did not want my RV-9A to end up upside down. I bought it, and have been flying with it for about a week now. Before I get to far, I should say that I am not an engineer, however I am a long time corporate pilot with experience in many different aircraft from J3 (owned one) to the G450 (for sure didn't own that). So my 40 years of flying told me that this was likely going to work.

I have owned my 9A for about 6 months. I purchased it, and have since removed the Blue Mountain stuff and installed a Dynon D1000. I have a a short not too smooth strip at my farm that is where I have wanted the airplane to live. Lots of concerns with the nose gear.

So here is where I am. I purchased the kit, and it was delivered promptly and in good shape. Installed it on my airplane, which went just as the video indicated. There were a couple of steps that were not shown in the video, and I have suggested to Allan that he include a very brief instruction sheet. The thing is really very easy to put on.