What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Dynon Dual Comms

Aero_Octaveus

Well Known Member
Does the Dynon Skyview system support dual Comms? For example could I connect two SV-COM-X25 radios and set them up as COM1 and COM2.

Or would I be better off with a separate Audio panel like a Garmin GMA-245 and then use two Garmin GMR-225 radios?

(I am a total newbie when it comes to avionics and avionic capabilities)

The PS Engineering PDA 360 EX remote ICS/audio panel is working well for me. All audio panel functions are controlled via the touch screen.

Last edited:
One of the advantages of using a Skyview radio with a Skyview system is that the EFIS integrates with the radio; you can load frequencies and otherwise control the radio from the EFIS, for example by viewing an airport on the map and loading a frequency for it to the radio's standby. This video provides a good overview of the integration.

However, to my knowledge, the EFIS will only ever integrate with a single SV radio this way. That is, I don't think you can go on the EFIS and use the integrated controls while selecting between COM1 and COM2. Pretty sure the EFIS will only ever know that a radio is connected. With that in mind, while you can use a second SV radio for COM2, it'll be really no better than any other radio.

The other question to consider is switching between the two radios. Most of the GA aircraft we fly have an audio panel to switch between the two radios, and this panel controls two functions. The first is what radio you're listening to, the second is what radio you're transmitting on. If you use a full-up audio panel in your build, you'll get this same functionality.