What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

I am IFR rated!

RFazio

Well Known Member
I wanted to post a plug for GATTS, General Aviation Training in Manhattan Kansas. I've been training for over two years for my IFR rating. It felt like I would never finish. I had to take the written again because I went over two years. The written course instructor recommended GATTS and I decided to do it. They have an IFR finish up course. $3500.00 includes a room, car and a hanger for your plane. You pay $1000.00 down and don't pay the rest till you pass. I trained in my own RV-6. I flew out there from NY, 9.9 hours and trained for 4 days of intense training with Mike, my instructor. The first day was 4.5 hours and 14 approaches. The remaining 3 days were all about 4 hours and 10 or 12 approaches. Day 5, I passed the check ride. I flew home IFR. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to get their IFR rating.

+1 on positive experience at GATTS! I trained with them for my instrument and commercial. Both were obtained on time and on budget! For my instrument rating I used their C172 RG with dual 430's. It was a great experience. For my commercial a couple of years later the C172RG was down for a new engine and we used K-State's flying club 200hp Arrow. That airplane was less to my liking, put that is likely mostly a personal problem! The supplied car and housing is of good quality and Manhattan KS is a nice city if you have any down time. The accelerated instrument is pretty much full on flying and study, the commercial was a little less intense. KMHK is also located very near Ft Riley and I was able to try a PAR (precision approach radar) type approach there, which was fun and different.