What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Glassfiber putty vs west systems resin/microballones

Epoxy

What base is that putty product? Polyester? West system is epoxy based, it doesn?t shrink like polyester does, it?s really light when mixed with micro balloons..What benefits are you looking for with the Valspar product? West systems epoxy is super versatile..you?ll love having it anyway when you have to modify fairings..

I am new to this. yes.
the Valspar stuff seems smoother and easier to spread.
I did already use the WS w/micro, and it doesnt' get very smooth. there are air bubbles after I spread, no matter how much mix.

Do you believe the valspar will shrink and crack over time?
after all , its being used on cars?

Micro

I don't get air bubbles, but I don't use Cab-O-Sil. No idea.
However, there is a trick you could try. If I want the micro smooth, wet your fingers or a credit card with a spray bottle of water and smooth it. It sets just fine. That said, I sand most of it off anyway and apply two coats of Kirker EnduroPrime as a high build primer. Anything like pinholes gets filled.

Manually mixing epoxy and microballoons to get the right consistency for a float coat is tricky. If you your mix is heavy on the epoxy side, then it's heavy. If it's heavy on the microballons, you get a lot of micro voids, sorta defeating the purpose of using it in the first place.

You can make a test and weight the difference, I am betting the weight difference is very small. The panel is already cured so you can apply any system, epoxy or polyester on top and it doesn't matter. Most of the fiberglass products provided from Vans use polyester resin gel coat anyway. .

My favorite is Poly Fiber SuperFil. It mixes perfect, does not shrink
and sands very easy. It will last a long time if stored in a cool dry
place.