What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Devil's Advocate, Why Skyview in the 12?

Jetguy

Well Known Member
Ok I cant resist. Why do you guys want Skyview so bad in the RV12.:confused:
I Admit it looks cool but it seems like over kill. Ok let the debate begin, fire away!:eek:

Skyview

I Admit it looks cool but it seems like over kill. Ok let the debate begin, fire away!:eek:

Just look at what the Skyview does instead of multiple Boxes of Tricks...! Its a Real Multi tasker Unit..!

How bout we start by you explaining why you think it is overkill.

Well, let the war begin....

1. I'm an engineer/nerd (that designs processor buses for a living) and the common signaling bus between the different modules in the system seems to be a lot more elegant than forty 'leven hundred different wires strung together in a messy wiring harnness.
2. My guess on total cost of avionics, if you consider that the GPS and transponder function (and possibly the COM) included in a Skyview solution may make the total RV-12/Skyview-with-bells-an-whistles system about the same cost or less than the present panel.
3. Even if I don't necessarily need all the funcitons/bells/whistles, It looks like the Skyview will be getting those, and the 180 will not get that many upgrades.
4. To make you and Colin feel like your dual-panel 180/100-based RV-12 is sooooo last year.

Rob (Haruko's favorite husband)

Stabed right in the back. Ouch!

Oh Rob that hurt!:p Got me there! If it is cheaper Id be all for that.

Nah...

Of course not--I'm the nerd, Haruko's the pilot. With a dual-head Skyview, I can sit in the right seat happily doing nerd things on the second display! She'll be happy with whatever...It'll all be nicer than what's in her Archer...

Navigator needs it.

Ok, I got it. Got to have it for the Nerd Factor!;)

PS Im out till tomorrow.