What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

EchoUAT - SkyFYX Intermittent GPS Loss

Mach-4

Hello wise VAFer’s

I’m experiencing an intermittent loss of GPS position with my EchoUAT-SkyFYX, presented on the GRT as “GPS 1 LOST” while the reversion to the internal GPS of the GRT takes over to keep me from getting lost. I know this means I am no longer producing a valid ADS-B position report. The flag is sometimes present for only a few seconds, sometimes a minute or two, and sometimes for large portions of a flight. I’ve traced the antenna wire and there doesn’t seem to be any obvious issues. Is there a logging feature on the echo that I can retrieve to have an idea of what direction to go searching in?

Last edited:
Did not know the

Echo/SKYFX would provide GPS position to your panel --- thought it only provided position for the ADS-B "out" . Are you sure your GPS 1 actually comes from the Echo?

You can request a PAPR to determine if your ADS-B is working.

Ron

I have had a similar issue on a couple of installs. One was installed in conjunction with a GRT Sport EX.
In this case, the GRT GPS antenna was mounted on a shelf on the firewall and the Echo GPS antenna was mounted on the same shelf right next to the other antenna.
I ended up building a bigger shelf, separating the antennas by about 1 1/2" and making sure I had a 1 1/2" border of aluminum on the shelf around the Echo WAAS antenna for a larger ground plane.
Everything worked fine after that.
As for the GPS1 signal lost message, it should also show ADSB just above that, which means the GRT is either seeing or not seeing the ADSB on that port.