What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Lubricants, Antisieze, Sealants, Gasket makers, etc...

cdeerinck

Well Known Member
Lubricants, Antisieze, Sealants, Gasket makers, etc...

It seems that each time I have to use one of these, the install instructions call for something I have never used before.

This time, I need Permatex Hylomar HPF or Loctite 518 gasket sealer (or equivalent). God, I love that "or equivalent" part. I'm never sure if one of the things I have are in fact equivalent, or if they differ in some subtle way such that the NTSB will someday say:
The builder inadvertently used Acme sealant #5 instead of natural coyote fat, not knowing the critical difference in 15g counter-clockwise inverted spins. May god rest his soul.

I went through my drawer full of "slippery and sticky stuff" to see if anything was close. Nope!

I did find this reference: https://www.permatex.com/contact/cross-reference/ which seems handy but didn't help much either, other than in ruling things out.

Does anyone have a guide of all the common stuff needed, and what it is needed for, so I don't have to keep buying one tube at a time? Also, maybe something useful when repairs and maintenance come along.

So far, I have:
- Permatex #2 Form-a-gasket #80011 (I don't even remember what I originally used it on)
- Alex Latex Caulk (to seal antennae mounts, no silicone near painted surfaces)
- 3M Fire Barrier Silicone Sealant (for firewall sealing)
- Permatex Aluminum Anti-Seize Lubricant #80078 or #81343 (for many things in the engine, used heavily during Lycoming rebuild school)
- Zap Z-43 Thread Locker Blue or Loctite Blue 242 (temporary)
- Pro Lok Thread Locker Red or Loctite Red 271 (permanent)
- Permatex Ultra Blue RTV Silicone Gasket maker (used inside the rudder)
- Permatex Thread Sealant with PTFE #80632 (used on aluminum AN hose fittings (never use Teflon tape!))