What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Boelube Equivalent/Substitute

BobbyLucas

Well Known Member
As a newbie I've never used Boelube... Does it have some magical pixie dust in it to keep the plane in the sky, or is there a more convenient substitute I can use until my Aircraft Spruce order arrives? :D

(Edit: This is in regards to screw threads on the -12iS belly skin)

Last edited:
I use boelub mostly in drilling application, especially when drilling out all the brand new holes in the RV8 longerons or drilling steel parts. It is less messy than cutting fluid. For fasteners, I just spray the LPS #2 lube on the new fasterners before using them on nutplates.

3 in 1

Any light oil will work. I keep an old film container with a hole in the lid. 1/2 filled with 3 in 1. Quick dip and bit is ready.

if you are using cobalt bits to drill aluminum, boelube (or any lube) is really overkill. Doesn't hurt, but you are not going to see a ton more life out of the tool. For HSS bits it does make a difference.

Great responses, thanks! To clarify, I'm at the spot on my -12iS build where I have to install some screws and nuts into the belly skin and it calls for Boelube on the threads. Thinking Kyle's bar soap is a good fit here...

Last edited:
I had success with coconut oil. Has the convenience of being somewhat solid as long as it isn't too warm. It also smells very nice.

I had success with coconut oil. Has the convenience of being somewhat solid as long as it isn't too warm. It also smells very nice.

Soap, coconut oil... at this rate my plane will smell like a gentlemen's club before I'm done; not that I would know of course. ;)