VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

- POSTING RULES
- Donate yearly (please).
- Advertise in here!

- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

  #21  
Old 06-21-2012, 02:39 PM
Rick_A's Avatar
Rick_A Rick_A is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Highland Village, TX
Posts: 1,522
Default

I've seen the green arc on the PFD but I've never noticed it on the map page. I'll look for it now.
__________________
Rick Aronow,
A&P
Flying 7A Slider;
RV-12 SOLD
Jacksonville, FL
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-21-2012, 05:31 PM
Bavafa Bavafa is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,354
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick_A View Post
I've seen the green arc on the PFD but I've never noticed it on the map page. I'll look for it now.
Interesting as I have never seen the arc on the PFD and I suspect you are looking at some thing else unless have the newest SW version and they are displying it on that.

If you don't see it on the map page, it means your map range is short for the altitude/attitude of the plane to show it on the map. Make the map to 35 or 50m range and point the nose down. You will see the arc.

Good luck
__________________
Mehrdad
N825SM RV7A - IO360M1B - SOLD
N825MS RV14A - IO390 - Flying
Dues paid
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-14-2012, 02:50 PM
Mike S's Avatar
Mike S Mike S is offline
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton Airpark, NV A34
Posts: 15,430
Default Back up your settings

I just had a failure of one of my GRT units, seems there is a bug in the old operating system.

Although GRT fixed the problem at no charge----------there is still going to be the time and trouble to re-configure all the settings again, because I did not have the settings backed up.

Actually, I did not even know you could back up the settings, but as usual, Carlos educated me.

Here is how to do this backup.

Go to the setup menu, go to display unit maint., go to EFIS settings backup, choose backup all settings.

And, here is an idea I got from Scott Card------I will start carrying a thumb drive in the plane at all times, it will have the backup settings for both screens, and the most current software.
__________________
Mike Starkey
VAF 909

Rv-10, N210LM.

Flying as of 12/4/2010

Phase 1 done, 2/4/2011

Sold after 240+ wonderful hours of flight.

"Flying the airplane is more important than radioing your plight to a person on the ground incapable of understanding or doing anything about it."
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-14-2012, 04:08 PM
scard's Avatar
scard scard is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 3,160
Default

And as you saw, I have not only one, but two usb keys with valid software and my backups on them in the airplane. I'm glad you're getting it worked out.
__________________
Scott Card
CQ Headset by Card Machine Works
CMW E-Lift
RV-9A N4822C flying 2200+hrs. / Cedar Park, TX
RV8 Building - fuselage / showplanes canopy (Done!)
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-14-2012, 05:16 PM
BobTurner BobTurner is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 6,816
Default

I usually fly with two thumb drives installed. One for the HX has approach plate data; on for the HS provides map data, specifically state outlines. I'm a little concerned about the drives having no mechanical support other than the USB socket itself. Anyone have any trouble with them coming out, or a solution to keep them from doing so? So far mine have stayed in, but I wonder about it.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-14-2012, 05:27 PM
agirard7a's Avatar
agirard7a agirard7a is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 707
Default velcro?

Hi, I just recieved my GRT Efis and I am a newbie. My USB port is in the corner of the unit. Maybe a velcro strap at a 45 degree over the top of the stick and attached to the sides?
__________________
Al Girard, Newport, RI
N339AG
RV-9
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-14-2012, 05:55 PM
RV-4 RV-4 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: St-Jerome,Quebec,Canada
Posts: 1,128
Thumbs up GRT USB CONNECTION

Al

Just cut a cut out in the front of your panel just below your EFIS and install one of those connected to your USB in the back of your EFIS..

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...2410&CatId=444

They're cheap, easy to install and work as advertised on my Skyview

Have fun

Bruno
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-14-2012, 09:27 PM
Ironflight's Avatar
Ironflight Ironflight is offline
VAF Moderator / Line Boy
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 12,267
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobTurner View Post
I usually fly with two thumb drives installed. One for the HX has approach plate data; on for the HS provides map data, specifically state outlines. I'm a little concerned about the drives having no mechanical support other than the USB socket itself. Anyone have any trouble with them coming out, or a solution to keep them from doing so? So far mine have stayed in, but I wonder about it.
I keep a thumb drive in each USB port (panel mounted) for each DU all the time - no problems with vibrations in 1600 hours....
__________________
Paul F. Dye
Editor at Large - KITPLANES Magazine
RV-8 - N188PD - "Valkyrie"
RV-6 (By Marriage) - N164MS - "Mikey"
RV-3B - N13PL - "Tsamsiyu"
A&P, EAA Tech Counselor/Flight Advisor
Dayton Valley Airpark (A34)
http://Ironflight.com
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-15-2012, 07:46 AM
scard's Avatar
scard scard is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 3,160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironflight View Post
I keep a thumb drive in each USB port (panel mounted) for each DU all the time - no problems with vibrations in 1600 hours....
Likewise with 1100hrs. Forgeddaboudit .
__________________
Scott Card
CQ Headset by Card Machine Works
CMW E-Lift
RV-9A N4822C flying 2200+hrs. / Cedar Park, TX
RV8 Building - fuselage / showplanes canopy (Done!)
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-15-2012, 09:08 AM
Bavafa Bavafa is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,354
Default

And me too as I always have one plugged in that records flights/engine info. For those who may not be as familiar, you can setup your system to start recording automatically either based on speed, RPM or other factors. It is a good tool as you can always go back and review if any thing is not normal.
__________________
Mehrdad
N825SM RV7A - IO360M1B - SOLD
N825MS RV14A - IO390 - Flying
Dues paid
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:50 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.