What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Vinyl Wrap...

Piper J3

Well Known Member
I bought my 12 from the original builder three years ago with 48TT and now have 440TT. I absolutely love the airplane. Parts of the plane were left bare aluminum - stabilator, fwd portion of vertical fin, and top of turtle deck. Two years ago I vinyl wrapped the stabilator with 3M 1080 Gloss White and it turned out great. Easy to keep clean and very durable.

Now I'm doing same treatment to the vertical fin and turtle deck. I'm tired of polishing aluminum - very dirty process. This time I chose 3M 1080 Gloss White Aluminum vinyl. 5'x10' piece cost $105 on eBay including shipping.

Last edited:
The film is very easy to work with once you learn techniques. I studied YouTube videos before first attempt and had success right out of the box. 3M 1080 is micro-porous and lets trapped air escape ? this lets the film lay down smooth and conform to contours without wrinkles. I have seen videos of vinyl wrap on wheel pants and cowlings using a heat gun to help stretch the material. The technique for the rivets is to prick a small hole at the edge of the rivet flange using a pin. Smooth the vinyl around the rivet with your fingernails allowing air to escape from the pin hole. When the adhesive sets up the film is no longer porous and the pin holes heal over.

I would consider wrapping an entire airplane Vs. paint. I?m not much of an artist, but with the huge variety of colors ? neon, gloss, matt, simulated carbon-fiber, etc., some really cool stuff can be accomplished. You can easily wrap a plane in your workshop, at your own pace, and even do partial components as construction continues. Real boost to the building process if you can see some parts with finished color as your pulling the remaining 5000 rivets?