What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Which is the best oil filter cutter?

AN23

Well Known Member
I spent 20 minutes today trying to get my old Spruce oil filter cutter to work. Finally threw it in the trash and promised myself a new one. Since I haven't bought one in twenty years, I have zero knowledge of which, of those on the market today, are best. I took a quick glance at the web and saw that Summit Racing and Jeg's offer cutters too. Any suggestions?

I spent 20 minutes today trying to get my old Spruce oil filter cutter to work. Finally threw it in the trash and promised myself a new one. Since I haven't bought one in twenty years, I have zero knowledge of which, of those on the market today, are best. I took a quick glance at the web and saw that Summit Racing and Jeg's offer cutters too. Any suggestions?

There are cheaper filter cutters and there are more expense cutters but IMHO, this filter cutter is the best.

I had a cheaper one that did not work that great. An airport friend had one of these and let me used it. I purchased my own after one use. Mine is now over 20-years old. Back then, there were almost 1/2 the price they are today.

Oil filter cutter

I myself bought one from Vince Fraser @ flyboyaccessories.com . Although I have only used it a couple of times, it was easy and worked well. The cost was in the $50.00 range. Just another option. Bob S .

There are cheaper filter cutters and there are more expense cutters but IMHO, this filter cutter is the best.

I had a cheaper one that did not work that great. An airport friend had one of these and let me used it. I purchased my own after one use. Mine is now over 20-years old. Back then, there were almost 1/2 the price they are today.

That airwolf cutter that Gary linked to is what we've been using forever as well. Many of our neighbors seem to like it too.