What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Rv12 planning help

Jcy482

I’m an aspiring RV 12 builder and planning out what I want to do. Knowing myself, I won’t keep the plane too long after building it as I’ll probably want to do something new (building is as exciting as flying to me). I want to make sure I make the best decisions for recouping most of my money. I’ll be using it for day VFR only. Below are my biggest questions, but open to any additional advice.

Does interior color matter?
Paint or don’t paint?
One screen or two?
Autopilot or not?
Wheel pants or not?
Extra lights or no?
Any other features I should include or avoid?

I am certainly not looking to make money off this process, but would like to minimize losses to the extent possible so that I can move on to the next project. Any and all advice is much appreciated.

I’m an aspiring RV 12 builder and planning out what I want to do. Knowing myself, I won’t keep the plane too long after building it as I’ll probably want to do something new (building is as exciting as flying to me). I want to make sure I make the best decisions for recouping most of my money. I’ll be using it for day VFR only. Below are my biggest questions, but open to any additional advice.

Does interior color matter?
Paint or don’t paint?
One screen or two?
Autopilot or not?
Wheel pants or not?
Extra lights or no?
Any other features I should include or avoid?

I am certainly not looking to make money off this process, but would like to minimize losses to the extent possible so that I can move on to the next project. Any and all advice is much appreciated.