What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Can I sit in your rv9 / is rv9 right for us?

TazzyTazzy

I'm New Here
Hello,
I'm a low time pilot, about 150 hours. I'm tired of the club rentals not being available / down.
I went on a test flight a couple years ago in an rv12. It's nice, but I don't think it's right for us.

Is there any one with an rv9a in Sacramento/bay area that I can sit in? I'm 6'4, and concerned that I'll fit in it.

Our most common mission: 3 day weekend trips and 1 day hamburger runs. There's just 2 of us, no kids/pets. We do enjoy camping at various airports on occasion. Eventually, would like to fly across the country on a 2 month sabbatical.

We would like to bring our foldable electric scooters to get around. They weight about 30 pounds each, but give us about 25 miles of range.

I'm concerned that the rv9 won't be able to hold our scooters or camping gear. Thoughts?

I really would like to build an rv-10 since it can carry anything we could need, but $$$$.

Thanks

You should also try fitting in an RV-7 if you can't find a -9 - the cabin is the same, and an RV-6 is very close except it has a little more room for taller (not wider) people.

We (a buddy and I who weigh >350 lbs total) camp at Oshkosh in the RV-6 carrying up to 110 pounds of gear. I'm sure a -9 or -9A would carry more. Prop choice (to move the CG forward) and where you pack your gear will make a difference on how much you can carry before going out of the CG range. Hint - the floor under your knees is a great place for dense items.

You didn?t mention your weight, or your usual passenger?s. That?s fine; just look at Vans? web site and run the numbers. Remember that you need ?no extras? to come in at Vans empty weight.
It really sounds to me like you want a -14.