VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 10-26-2020, 04:42 PM
ten4teg ten4teg is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kenly, NC
Posts: 298
Default Garmin G5 Static - Altitude

Just got a Garmin G5. When I set the Baro to field elevation, the baro does not match the current pressure. It looks like it needs adjustment. Anybody know a way to do this? I don't need IFR accuracy. Thanks tom.gregorski@gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2020, 04:43 PM
bkervaski's Avatar
bkervaski bkervaski is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 1,674
Default

How far off is it? Mine is off like 10 feet.
__________________
RV-14A #140376
N196 (Flying)
2019 Bronze Lindy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2020, 05:17 PM
ten4teg ten4teg is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kenly, NC
Posts: 298
Default Reply

Mine is off about 70 feet.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2020, 07:33 PM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 5,737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ten4teg View Post
Mine is off about 70 feet.
They can easily be calibrated with a (high accuracy RVSM preferred) pitot static test box, you have to take it up to 20K for the cal procedure. I find they can drift a bit but have not seen anywhere near 70'.
__________________
Walt Aronow, DFW, TX (52F)

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1700+ hrs, New Titan IO-370, Bendix Mags
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154

Last edited by Walt : 10-27-2020 at 08:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2020, 08:13 PM
Desert Rat Desert Rat is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: 50-50 Wichita KS & Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 392
Default

Not saying it's right, because a 70' error would really bother me as well, but even for IFR the allowable error on an altimeter is shockingly large. Going out on a limb here, but I seem to recall the AIM talking about +-75'. Does that sound right?

Also, is it possible that the error isn't actually that large? My home runway looks dead flat, but according to the approach plates, field elevation is 1408, measured at the threshold for rwy 19, and drops about 40' by the time it gets to the other end. The runup pad (about midfield) consistently shows 20' lower than published field elevation, which seem logical based on what the plate shows.
__________________
Terry Shortt
AGI, CFI, CFII, MEI, A&P, Janitor
RV7 Empennage & Wing done
Fuselage in process
#72651
https://eaabuilderslog.org/?blprojec...t=all&listcat=
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-26-2020, 08:20 PM
MacCool MacCool is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: central Minnesota
Posts: 152
Default

I added a G5 to my panel as a backup, in addition to my AFS EFIS and to the old round gauge still in the panel. I just had the entire suite IFR-certified. Interestingly, the EFIS and the G5 were exact, and matched. I still have to set three different altimeters, but the old round gauge didn't make the cut and got placarded as "VFR only".
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-26-2020, 08:41 PM
newt's Avatar
newt newt is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 377
Default

When you have one altimeter, you always know exactly how high you're flying.

When you have two, you're never quite sure.

- mark
__________________
[ Paid up on 3 Feb 2020 ]
RV-6 VH-SOL
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-27-2020, 08:07 AM
Walt's Avatar
Walt Walt is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 5,737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Desert Rat View Post
Not saying it's right, because a 70' error would really bother me as well, but even for IFR the allowable error on an altimeter is shockingly large. Going out on a limb here, but I seem to recall the AIM talking about +-75'. Does that sound right?

Also, is it possible that the error isn't actually that large? My home runway looks dead flat, but according to the approach plates, field elevation is 1408, measured at the threshold for rwy 19, and drops about 40' by the time it gets to the other end. The runup pad (about midfield) consistently shows 20' lower than published field elevation, which seem logical based on what the plate shows.
Allowed error (91.411) depends on altitude.
With 2 altimeters the split could be double the error if one was on the minus side limit and the other was on the positive side limit.

ALTITUDE / ERROR

0 / 20
500 / 20
1,000 / 20
1,500 / 25
2,000 / 30
3,000 / 30
4,000 / 35
6,000 / 40
8,000 / 60
__________________
Walt Aronow, DFW, TX (52F)

EXP Aircraft Services LLC
Specializing in RV Condition Inspections, Maintenance, Avionics Upgrades
Dynamic Prop Balancing, Pitot-Static Altmeter/Transponder Certification
FAA Certified Repair Station, AP/IA/FCC GROL, EAA Technical Counselor
Authorized Garmin G3X Dealer/Installer
RV7A built 2004, 1700+ hrs, New Titan IO-370, Bendix Mags
Website: ExpAircraft.com, Email: walt@expaircraft.com, Cell: 972-746-5154
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-27-2020, 08:12 AM
Desert Rat Desert Rat is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: 50-50 Wichita KS & Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 392
Default

Thanks Walt!
__________________
Terry Shortt
AGI, CFI, CFII, MEI, A&P, Janitor
RV7 Empennage & Wing done
Fuselage in process
#72651
https://eaabuilderslog.org/?blprojec...t=all&listcat=
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-28-2020, 08:28 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 2,903
Default G5 Calibration

Quote:
Originally Posted by ten4teg View Post
Just got a Garmin G5. When I set the Baro to field elevation, the baro does not match the current pressure. It looks like it needs adjustment. Anybody know a way to do this? I don't need IFR accuracy. Thanks tom.gregorski@gmail.com

Tom,

While there is a static cal procedure provided in the installation manual, you should not have to perform it right out of the box. Reach out to us via email at G3Xpert@Garmin.com and we can get an exchange set up for you if you would like.

Thanks,

Justin
__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.

Last edited by g3xpert : 11-02-2020 at 02:17 PM. Reason: Addressed incorrect username in original response
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:19 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.