What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Phase 1 completed in 8 days

FulltronAviation

Custom RV painting by Fulltron
Advertiser
After two years and two weeks of working 7 days/week building my RV-14 I was a very rusty pilot. Two years of almost no flying and 20+ years with almost no tail-wheel time left me scratching my head about how to get current flying tailwheels and also do Phase 1. Instead of trying to go slow and taking it easy, I decided to go full bore, as fast as I could. The solution was to find high-time tailwheel instructors who could be "Qualified Pilots" under the Additional Pilot Program. And instead of trying to schedule an hour here and an hour there over many days, I flew several hours a day with them, over just a few days, getting tailwheel current, breaking in the new Thunderbolt engine while also doing Phase 1. Eight days of 5+ hours flight time accomplished all the goals. This pix was taken early on day eight as tach rolled over 40 hours. Day eight ended up with Phase 1 completed.

Attachments

• IMG_3961.jpg
    IMG_3961.jpg
    363.9 KB · Views: 306
Last edited:
That's impressive! I took almost 5 months to get through Phase 1.
Have a safe Phase 2!

It is impressive, considering the number of times one may need to take the cowl off or other parts to inspect and make sure all is in order.

I don't think this is something I would brag about. The spirit and intent of Phase 1 is to do all the appropriate flight testing to validate the statement that you write in the log book after you are finished.

I demonstrated field length, rate of climb, cruise performance at 4 different cg locations within the envelop (including establishing my own aft cg limit which is slightly less aft than the factory recommendation, based on stick-force gradient). I also demonstrated all aerobatic maneuvers, as well as no undesirable control behaviors, again at each cg position.