What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Eastern Technology Diffeferential Cylinder Pressure Testers

RV8Squaz

Well Known Member
This text below is from an email I sent to my partners in a F33A Bonanza. The Bonanza has a Continental IO-550B. I also own an RV-8 with a 200hp IO-360A1A. I've been doing my own compression checks since I got the airplane flying more than 10 years ago. Yet, I still learned something new. I'm not an expert at this. I haven't spoken with any engineers at TCM or Eastern Technology. Please let me know if you see any inaccuracies, but the info below I feel is correct and is FYI.

"Hi Guys,

It seems like since we started with the pre-buy inspection, we have been getting very different results each time we have had the differential compression tests done. As you know, when the pre-buy was done we had a couple of cylinders that failed. Later, when we were getting the spar checked in Waco, we had another compression check and it was miraculously better. We even did our own compression check with excellent results. And finally Bob did a a compression check with very poor results. The mystery has now been solved.

Eastern Technology makes basically four different testers. Two do not have the Master Orifice feature and two do. They all have an internal orifice. The Master Orifice is used to establish the minimum acceptable pressure for that day's atmospheric conditions. The models are:

E2A: No master orifice, internal orifice of .040
E2A-1000: No master orifice, internal orifice of .060
E2M: Yes master orifice, internal orifice of .040
E2M-1000: Yes master orifice, internal orifice of .060 This is the one I have.