What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Making it Lighter...

bill.hutchison

Well Known Member
My RV6A is one of the heavier ones out there. I didn't build it, and it's a lovely little flying machine-as is, so I don't think I can really start drilling lightening holes in it. 180hp O360 and a CS Prop, slider canopy.

That means removing stuff. It's got pretty bog-standard instruments and radio stack (SL30, GNC250) and it's got some nice leather seats. I've been toying with the idea of going to a glass panel for IFR but somehow I think that might add weight instead of subtracting it.

Y'all got some ideas that I, as a newbie here, haven't thought of in terms of putting my RV6A on a diet?

Not sure what panel you've got in there now, but here's a datapoint for you. We recently got the Dynon HDX dual-screen STC in our 172, versus the original steam gauges, Century autopilot and King radios/GPS. The airplane weighed in 57 pounds lighter after the change. That old stuff is heavy.

Another data point. Installed dual G5s in a Cherokee 140, removing the vacuum system and associated equipment resulted in about 5.5 lbs useful load gain. Lots more old round gauges that weigh far more than an EFIS.

Swap to a Lithium battery and save at least 10 lbs straight up.

I went from a lithium to a SLA (because I couldn't get a quick replacement for my lithium) and there was a noticeable difference in the handling, particularly landing.

Hi Bill

Some ideas have already been mentioned. Here a couple more:

Panel I swopped my steam gages against a dual Garmin G5 + Navigator configuration. Fully redundant since each G5 can be swiftly switched to function as either ADI or HSI and each has a back-up battery. I have no other back-up instruments as such, not even a wishkey compass. Part of the kit, an iPad mini and an iPhone with up to date nav software on them.