What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Aerobatics

What kind of aerobatics do you guys do in your RV-8s? What are some more advanced maneuvers can you do besides simple loops and rolls?

Hammer heads

I’ve just started experimenting with hammer heads. Super fun with a smoke system!

All the standard stuff.....Cuban 8’s, Immelmann, Split S, Spins, slow rolls. It’s more fun when you start stringing maneuvers together, and plan them to maintain your “box”.

I certified KELLI GIRL for positive G aero maneuvers plus a couple of momentary negative G, specifically loops, aileron rolls, barrel rolls, split S, Immelmann, and half-Cuban 8.

If you build negative G oil and fuel pickups, you can expand the neg G repertoire, as long as you certify the aircraft for it in Phase 1 and write it into the POH. I'm no aerobatics expert, just the casual G-puller.

Do most RV pilots close the thottle going vertical on the back side of a loop? I've always done that that in Citabrias and Decathlons.

Do most RV pilots close the thottle going vertical on the back side of a loop? I've always done that that in Citabrias and Decathlons.

No. Enter at 150 - 170 knots with a 3.5 - 4 G pull and you will end up at about the same speed that you entered.

Do most RV pilots close the throttle going vertical on the back side of a loop? I've always done that that in Citabrias and Decathlons.

There is no need to close the throttle in any airplane. Laws of physics dictate that from a constant power setting you cannot gain airspeed if your entry and exit altitudes are equal. Leave the power in. If you're blowing out the bottom too fast you're doing something wrong. Some basic acro instruction helps.

Ok I’m a complete rookie. I have done aerobatics in an Extra 300L (Upset recovery training) but would like to do them in my RV8, after getting some training. Oh I need to finish the build to but that’s a different story.