What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Tool Kits, New RV-14 builder tool kit advice?

PRE911

I have just ordered a wing kit for the RV-14. I am a first time builder. At almost 65, I feel like a little boy waiting for Santa to come down the chimeny with my new toys (RV-14 crates) :)

I have a lot of basic tools such as air compressor, drill press, bandsaw, bench grinder and several clamps and auto tools.

I am looking for complete kits from Cleaveland or Avery. Any positives :) or negatives:( about either company, or any suggestions for another tool kit source.

I really enjoy all the posts from the current RV-14 builders, as well as the RV-10 builders. Thanks for all your work in bringing all the information you do to us which is especially appreciated by a newbie like me.

I believe I got my RV tool kit from Cleaveland way back about 7-8 years ago. I mainly got it from them for the famous Cleaveland 'Main Squeeze' squeezer. You can't beat it. I was happy with the kit but trust me when I say that you'll need a lot more than that eventually. I'd highly recommend one of the small Souix or similar pneumatic drills. Don't scrimp there with the cheap Harbor Freight one. There is a big difference. And a small angle die grinder with 1" Scotchbright wheels is a great time saver. If you want to spend a little more, take the C-frame dimpler out of the kit when you order it and order a DRDT-2 dimpler instead. You'll love using one of those. The last suggestion would be a pneumatic squeezer if the budget allows. Good luck on your build.

Tools

Two of the greatest tools I purchased and probably will never sell are my
DRDT 2 and my pneumatic squeezer.

I am looking for complete kits from Cleaveland or Avery. Any positives :) or negatives:( about either company, or any suggestions for another tool kit source.