What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Impossible Battery Location

GHARBEN

I have owned N12HR for about 10 months. The battery must be replaced. It is located between your feet in the lower part of the aircraft. To replace it will require the removal of the transponder, navcom, and cdi indicator. Also possibly other wires and vacuum hoses.
It appears that an access hole in the lower skin could cure this problem. Any thoughts or experences?
Thanks
G Harben
N12HR
RV 4

Thought about that too..

While I was building my -4, I gave a thought to a simple access door as you mention. After much pondering, i decided against it for several reasons. I also have some stuff in the way, but it's not bad to move it. Future plans will likely put the battery on the firewall, and be done with tunnel diving. I have been flying mine for 10 years, and dont really have much battery maintenance. I have it wired for a tender that has plug in oil door, and I use the Batteries Plus wheelchair battery that has been fly and forget..maybe just lucky!

Mine is in the same location, and to make matters worse, I have a center radio stack.
So yeah, it’s a half day job to replace the battery which is why I am on a three-year, mandatory replacement plan, whether it needs it or not.
I’d much rather deal with it in my own hangar.

If I could, I’d kick the builder in the behind for the design but that means I’d just be hurting myself ;)

When I redid the panel in my RV4 I removed the battery and put it on the engine side of the firewall. Extremely easy to service and you can reach the terminals thru the oil door if need be.

Sounds like moving the battery to the other side of the firewall is the answer. Should help the center of gravity also. Thanks for the help! In the meantime, I am headed to the airport to move the radios and replace the battery.
G Harben
N12HR