What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Attaching gear stiffeners

cyrus

Well Known Member
Has anybody found a disadvantage or advantage to one type of epoxy system over another for attaching the wood gear leg stiffeners?

I was leaning towards West Systems since they're easier to work with and have pumps, and I'm new to glass work.

Reading the forums, many people suggest they're not the strongest, but am unsure how strong this needs to be. Since the spring steel gear flexes quite a bit, we would want the glass and wood to stay firmly attached.

Aeropoxy, EZ Poxy?

Also, which 2" tape from spruce would be recommended? In the Construction Manual it suggests 2-3" 9oz. I don't see this specifically at Spruce, unless i'm missing something.

http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/cmpages/etapes.php?clickkey=18109

Appreciate the help!

Has anybody found a disadvantage or advantage to one type of epoxy system over another for attaching the wood gear leg stiffeners?

I was leaning towards West Systems since they're easier to work with and have pumps, and I'm new to glass work.

Reading the forums, many people suggest they're not the strongest, but am unsure how strong this needs to be. Since the spring steel gear flexes quite a bit, we would want the glass and wood to stay firmly attached.

Aeropoxy, EZ Poxy?

Also, which 2" tape from spruce would be recommended? In the Construction Manual it suggests 2-3" 9oz. I don't see this specifically at Spruce, unless i'm missing something.

http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/cmpages/etapes.php?clickkey=18109

Appreciate the help!

West Systems and the glass tape from spruce would work fine.

May I ask if you have checked all the factors that can cause leg shimmy?
Out of balance tires/wheels. Out of round / flat spotted tires. Mis-aligned axles. etc