VAF Forums

VAF Forums (https://vansairforce.net/community/index.php)
-   Glass Cockpit (https://vansairforce.net/community/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   Running out of ideas (https://vansairforce.net/community/showthread.php?t=63836)

breister 10-18-2010 02:39 PM

Getting more esoteric / specific with the grounds - check the following:

- Do the two COMMs ground to the same spot that the EMS does?
- Have you tested
- for zero resistance between the EMS and the Comms?
- for zero resistance between the common avionics ground point and the block?
- for zero resistance between the common avionics ground point and the battery?
- for zero resistance between the battery and block?

I bought an older (relatively) plane not well cared for. All of the above had problems; even the battery cable / power cable connector crimps were not tight (absolutely not obvious unless you yank on them - then they come loose).

Many people's Garmins sit right next to their Dynons with no trouble - I don't think it is RF transmitted by the antenna.

RV7Guy 10-18-2010 02:50 PM

SOLUTION
 
My neighbor just had this same problem with his new RV last week. Similar equipment but the EFIS is Advanced flight. I believe he used a Ferrite donut to solve the problem. I'll call and check with him. He's not on the list.

Ironflight 10-18-2010 03:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by breister (Post 477135)
Many people's Garmins sit right next to their Dynons with no trouble ....

But do they sit right next to their Dynon Skyviews? Two different generations of equipment - one with tens of thousands of hours of flight time, and another that is fairly new in the air.

elippse 10-18-2010 03:36 PM

As I understand this problem, you have sensor cables that pass through the firewall into the engine compartment and these wires are getting EMI when you transmit, true? If that is the case then I would consider that the transmit power is passing through your compost cowling and is being picked up by the wires, which then pass it into the box where the circuitry rectifies the radio wave, a typical scenario. To get rid of this, you must place series impedance with the wires and shunt impedance across the wires. The solution, if this is the case, is to either connect chokes in series with the wires, or small ferrite beads over them, or a large ferrite over the cable, and small capacitors across each signal to the return. 0.001uf, ceramic disc capacitors with very short leads, will do the job if the chokes don't get rid of all of it.

marchudson 10-18-2010 04:00 PM

The latest that I have tried
 
Roger - I initially made the mistake of checking the system indoors but quickly learned my lesson on that one. All test have been made with the AC parked at least 50' from the nearest building.

Paul - Initially I did contact Dynon to see if anyone else had this problem or not. They indicated that I was the only one to report such a problem so I decided to double check variables and components one at a time to make sure I didn't make a mistake on the install.

In an effort to isolate systems as much as possible, I removed the SL-40 from the aircraft and fabricated an additional 15 pin cable for it. Grabbed a store bought RG-58 coax cable. Then removed one of the RAMI bent whip antennas from the aircraft. RAMI instructions say that the antenna needs a 24 square inch ground plane. I had a spare sheet of 24 X 24 aluminum that I attached the antenna. Checked that the antenna was properly grounded to the mounted piece and that the center conductor was not shorted to ground. Rolled the aircraft away from any buildings. Connected the SL-40 to a spare 12V battery I had and fired it up. To be clear, a 12V battery, RG-58 coax, RAMI mounted to a piece of 24X24 aluminum, and a switch for keying the mic. The basics for a portable comm. Nothing connected to the aircraft whatsoever.

The only thing powered in the aircraft was the Dynon Skyview via it's battery backup. I had disconnected the ADHARS so the only thing connected to the Dynon was the EMS. Transmit on 118.0 while holding the antenna in different locations. When held below the aircraft simulating it being mounted to the belly but NOT touching the aircraft, EGT/CHT jumps from 80deg to 120-130deg. It is worse when the antenna is held above the aircraft. Laid the antenna on a pillow thinking that my body would affect wave propagation. Still get the EGT/CHT random spikes when transmitting.

I received the EMI/RFI ferrite coils from MGK electronics. Tried them on multiple location with zero effect. I actually expected some difference with these.

Mel graciously said that I could use his SWR meter. Going to pick it up tomorrow. I'm thinking it can only be one of two things. Either the antennas or the EMS unit itself.

I'm waiting on a return call from Dynon to see what they have to say.

I appreciate all the great input and support.

KRviator 10-18-2010 04:31 PM

marchudson, you've said when you disconnect the sensor inputs to the EMS, the problem goes away.

It's likely to be a PITA, but have you considered disconnecting them all individually, then reconnecting them one at a time to isolate which one(s) give you the strange readings? At least then you can concentrate on CHT4 or your Tach input or whatever it is that is causing the problem directly.

Another suggestion would be to verify zero resistance between all 6 ground pins on the DB37 EMS Module plug and the ground point. Something I've also noticed in the SkyView installation documentation, Table 15 specifies Pin30 as a ground, but the tables for various engine examples show it as "not connected". No idea if this could cause your issues but it might be something to raise when you're on the blower with Dynon.

scsmith 10-18-2010 07:36 PM

Dynon thermocouple bundle connector?
 
So, now I'm wondering if it is in the connector on the back of the EMS where all the thermocouples plug in. On my Dynon, EMS-D120, that cable was made by Stein, I think, and it works fine.

Your hand-held radio test, your probes dangling test, and your SL-40 off the airplane test, all suggest that RFI is getting into the thermocouple signals, not antenna or airframe grounds. Since we all use thermocouple wire that is unshielded and we don't have problems, its not the wires. So I'm wondering if there is something in the connector - maybe bad grounds, or maybe the thermocouple leads are grounded wrong at the "cold junction" inside the box or at the connector, or something like that.

Based on everything you've tested, I would conclude that it is a Dynon problem, and ask them to check it out.

Tell us what the antenna signal testor says.....but that seems like low probabily given that it is a production antenna.

This is a strange one, to be sure.

breister 10-20-2010 07:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ironflight (Post 477147)
But do they sit right next to their Dynon Skyviews? Two different generations of equipment - one with tens of thousands of hours of flight time, and another that is fairly new in the air.

Don't really know for sure - that might best be a question posed on the Dynon forum. Certainly that is one of the things all these forums are for - to to share experiences and find out if there are trends among certain pieces of equipment.

Given that it happens with BOTH radios I am not convinced that it is an RF problem (both units generating significant noise?). But that's just Occam's Razor and I'm not an electronics guy. I only know that in my installation (not the same as the OP) 95% of my problems were grounds. One other problem was indeed related to a piece of equipment - I was one of the 10% who had problems with my TruTrak AP until I installed the $15 in-line filter. There is a sticky on their site about that problem - don't know if it would be practical to try that experiment with an EFIS; certainly not on the connector feeding EGT/CGT, but perhaps on the power/signal connector it might help.

Sunriver Ken 11-24-2010 09:01 AM

So where did this thread end up?

I have the same type RFI problem with the ammeter gauge but I am confident it is casued by the #2 Comm as the #1 comm does not create a problem and it runs to the left of the pilot while the coax for #2(the culprit) runs to the right of the passenger. The ammeter sits on the right side of the panel.

Can any damage be done by this high RF spike? If not I can live with it as this is a flying airplane with a slider canopy and it is tough getting under the panel.

marchudson 11-25-2010 06:47 AM

Ken

I finally fixed the problem. I'm out of town now for Thanksgiving but when I get back, I'll post results with pictures.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:59 PM.