What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Best route across southern rockies?

charosenz

Well Known Member
I am a fairly low time pilot (230 hours) and I plan to fly my RV6A from Washington State to Ky.

Since it might be in the early part of winter, I plant to fly south and cross in the southern part of the Rockies.

I would like to hear from folks who have done this and of course, learn some ideas on the best route to take. I know the work "best" route is a bit vague so let me say that for me, this would mean low altitude, generous amount of airports along the way and avoiding class B airspace.

I have looked at this a bit in foreflight and right now I am looking at southbound from WA to just north of Las Vegas and then east towards Sante Fe then on to KY.

Suggestions are welcome.

southern route

Here is a screen shot of the route I am looking at with foreflight.

Attachments

• southern route screen shot 600px.jpg
    southern route screen shot 600px.jpg
    160.9 KB · Views: 478
Here is a screen shot of the route I am looking at with foreflight.
I would stay west of the Sierras to Bakersfield, then east over Tehachapi, south of Edwards complex to Laughlin, and then follow I-40.
The most challenging terrain will be Williams to Sandia mtns, (just east of ABQ).

Last edited:
My brother & I flew out to Pocatello, ID from OKC a couple of weeks ago. We flew his RV9A out there and bought a Rans S6S Coyote II. He flew his RV home and I flew the S6 back. We never had to fly any higher than 9500' and never HAD to talk to any ATC, we could "skirt" any B or C airspaces we got close to.