What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Cliffjumper

Hey guys just wanted to introduce myself. I'm just about to jump off of this RV cliff. I ordered a squeezer and the toolbox kit so no going back now! I'm a private pilot flying an old C182 in Winston Salem with 2 kids and a lifelong dream of building my own airplane. I've managed to get the kids addicted to LEGOS which I see as the stepping stone to getting their help building an airplane with me. I recently started cleaning up the garage and tool shopping which is probably the builder version of a pregnant woman cleaning house and buying onesies.

I'm leaning towards an RV-14 since I already have access to a competent family hauler and I love the combination of cross-country comfort and light aerobatics. I'd love to find anyone in the reasonably close area that is either in the process of building a -14 or has a finished one I could buy dinner to take a look at.

I'd also love suggestions, opinions, advice, warnings and other ramblings. Talk me out of this!

Matt Bolick

Welcome aboard!
Me: Former part owner of a 182. Built an RV-10 after I retired. Love it.
You: Q1: Is your wife on-board? Building an airplane is a huge time commitment (One I couldn't make while still working). If the answer is "no", do you want a wife, or an RV?