What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

eSectionals and New Golden Eagle Flight Prep 2007

hevansrv7a

Well Known Member
eSectionals is a subscription service that provides sectionals, TAC's and so on over the internet. I have been using it for a few months and for the most part I like it. The owners/programmers are good people to work with. The data is kept current; they notify you of updates and you download them.

Flight Prep's Golden Eagle (FPGE) is a "free" flight planner that runs on Windows. There are premium versions including one that is internet based and the high-end "Chart Case" but I'm not reviewing those. The basic FPGE is free to download and run and it keeps the data current on the 28 day cycle.

eSectionals allows you to draw your course line from anywhere to anywhere and to then put in waypoints (you must do them in order) to which the line will then conform. It provides for printing and for saving JPG's to your PDA; that's what I use it for as well as reviewing the planned route for airspace issues that are not as clear in the basic FPGE.

The latest version of FPGE (2007) was just released and it contains some nice improvements. Did I mention that it is connected to CSC DUATS? You can plan your route and file it with FSS all within the program if you are on-line. It also creates printable flight logs, flight plans and the route portion of the sectional(s) in PDF format.

The reason I am comparing these two unlike programs is that now, FPGE allows you to subscribe to their service which includes the same NACO raster images as everyone else has - of the sectionals, for instance.

So now these two good programs intersect in the area of creating images of the route superimposed on the sectionals or TAC's or WAC's or whatever.